Book Review: Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

Hollow City by Ransom Riggs
Published January 2014
Genres: YA; Fantasy

My Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Goodreads
| Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Oh. My. Gods! This book was just so freaking amazing and I have no words. I literally wanted to scream when I got to the last page because it was so perfect. I thought I loved Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, but I might actually have a greater fondness for this sequel.

Alright, where to begin with this?

We join the peculiar gang right where the first book left off, and I was kind of surprised by how easily I slipped back into the story. I read Miss Peregrine’s about 2.5 years ago, so my memory was a bit fuzzy, even after reading the graphic novel. Anyway, the story immediately sucked me back in and I found myself remembering things about each character and what they could do, what I liked about them, and so on. At the beginning of the book there’s also a handy section that has pictures and mini-bios for each of the characters, which really helped to jog my memory.

This book is like the first, having quite a few photos throughout that are often of a peculiar—some might even say creepy, or disturbing—nature, which was wonderful for setting the mood and adding something special to both books. I could honestly sit and stare at these books and the pictures for hours because they’re wonderful.

The journey the children make to try to help Miss Peregrine is harrowing at times and full of surprises for them. We meet an interesting new cast of peculiars, but I think my favorite was probably Addison. I’m really looking forward to seeing how he figures into the continuation of the story. In my opinion, the romance that’s blossoming between Jacob and Emma is a bit odd, and not entirely necessary for the story, but it works somehow. Jacob was brilliant in this book (not that the other children weren’t, also, but Jacob really learned a lot about himself and his peculiar ability) and I can not wait for the next book to come out, which is supposedly being released either later this year or sometime next year. There are quite a few loose ends to be tied up, and I’m torn between wanting answers and not wanting this series to end because it has utterly enchanted me.

Leave a Reply

