Must Read Monday

MRM

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

Goodreads Link
When I Read It:
March 2011
Genres: Sci-Fi; Humor
Recommended For: Anyone who enjoys humor, even if you aren’t a huge sci-fi fan.

Description from Goodreads:

Seconds before the Earth is demolished to make way for a galactic freeway, Arthur Dent is plucked off the planet by his friend Ford Prefect, a researcher for the revised edition of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy who, for the last fifteen years, has been posing as an out-of-work actor.

Together this dynamic pair begin a journey through space aided by quotes from The Hitchhiker’s Guide (“A towel is about the most massively useful thing an interstellar hitchhiker can have”) and a galaxy-full of fellow travelers: Zaphod Beeblebrox–the two-headed, three-armed ex-hippie and totally out-to-lunch president of the galaxy; Trillian, Zaphod’s girlfriend (formally Tricia McMillan), whom Arthur tried to pick up at a cocktail party once upon a time zone; Marvin, a paranoid, brilliant, and chronically depressed robot; Veet Voojagig, a former graduate student who is obsessed with the disappearance of all the ballpoint pens he bought over the years.

This book is probably what really got me into science fiction, both books and movies. Before I read this, I had only seen a few sci-fi movies that I liked, and while I’m still not a big fan of sci-fi, but I obsessively devoured the rest of this “trilogy” (told in five parts hehe) and I’m about to start a re-read. I honestly recommend this book to everyone because it was hilarious, so quick to read, and just a great story all around. Definitely read this if you like things like Doctor Who, because I think you’ll love it.

About battybibliophile

If you’ve somehow found your way to this blog, hello! I created this blog for (mostly) book related posts. I’m not entirely certain about the potential content that will find its way here, but I have some ideas. I will probably use this space for reviewing books, posting short thoughts on what I’m reading (or planning to read), quotes, rants, etc.
This entry was posted in must read mondays and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

