Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

everythingeverything

Genres: YA; Contemporary; Romance

Pages: 320

Published: September 1st, 2015

My Rating: ★ ★ ★  ☆

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Description:

Madeline can’t leave her house because she’s allergic to, or potentially allergic to, everything. She has SCID (severe combined immunodeficiency), so she spends her days in her sterile home with filtered air, reading books and being cared for by her mother and her nurse, Carla. Madeline knows what her life is, has always been, and will always be. That is, until a new family moves in next door and Madeline sees Olly from her window, and he sees her.

I’m so, so, so late in reviewing this because I got an ARC from Net Galley last year. But, life happened and I didn’t do much reading for several months, which is a shame because I loved this book.

I’m going to try to keep this spoiler free, so it’s going to be a short review.

Olly and Madeline (”Maddy”) were great and so realistic. Actually, all the characters were so well written (and there was some diversity, yay!), it was easy to forget they weren’t actual people while I was reading this. Maddy had lived such a sheltered life, but she was definitely not boring. She was creative, smart, brave, and I really liked her. I loved seeing close relationships between her and her mother, as well as the relationship she had with Carla.

I loved Olly from the beginning. He was funny, intelligent, and charming. I was rooting for them to get together from the beginning, despite the challenges of Maddy’s need for isolation and a sterile environment.

I saw a twist coming, or at least I suspected it, but I still ended up being a little shocked by it. This was a quick read (well, it took me over a week to read it, but that was because I was busy) because there were bits of IMs, drawings, etc., and I thought the pace was perfect.

Overall, I enjoyed this a lot and I’m looking forward to more books by Nicola Yoon in the future. In fact, I might even buy a physical copy of this so I can re-read it later.

4.5 stars and I highly recommend it.

About battybibliophile

If you’ve somehow found your way to this blog, hello! I created this blog for (mostly) book related posts. I’m not entirely certain about the potential content that will find its way here, but I have some ideas. I will probably use this space for reviewing books, posting short thoughts on what I’m reading (or planning to read), quotes, rants, etc.
This entry was posted in book review, books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

