Review: Pop Sonnets

pop sonnets

Pop Sonnets by Erik Didriksen

Genres: Poetry; Humor; Pop Culture
Pages: 128
Published: October 6th, 2015 by Quirk Books
My Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

DESCRIPTION:

This is a collection of 100 pop songs, translated into Shakespearean style sonnets. There’s Green Day, TLC, Bon Jovi, Black Sabbath, The Cure, Britney Spears, and so much more. I don’t think any artists were repeated.

REVIEW:

4.5/5 Stars

I really enjoyed this. I read it straight through in one evening and found myself laughing out loud a few times. I didn’t realize, when I started reading, that this whole thing actually started online (on tumblr, if I’m not mistaken) and was then published later. According to the description on goodreads, over half of the sonnets in this book have not been published anywhere else.

I haven’t heard every song, but most, and the ones I’m more familiar with were the ones I would read the first line or two from and almost bounce up off my chair to shout the name of it. (I’m only a little ashamed of the fact that sometimes I read like I’m on a game show.) I think this book would be great to break out with some friends and take turns reading out loud to see who can guess the song. A few are really, really obvious because of a distinctive name or something, but there were a couple I had to re-read to get because I didn’t remember the lyrics of the song well enough.

I like poetry, I like sonnets, and I like music. This book was perfect for the mood I was in and I hope to see more of these in the future. I highly recommend this one, and I’m probably going to buy a physical copy because I feel like it deserves a place on my poetry shelf.

*I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review from Net Galley and the publisher*

About battybibliophile

If you’ve somehow found your way to this blog, hello! I created this blog for (mostly) book related posts. I’m not entirely certain about the potential content that will find its way here, but I have some ideas. I will probably use this space for reviewing books, posting short thoughts on what I’m reading (or planning to read), quotes, rants, etc.
This entry was posted in book review, books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

