Review: The Princess Saves Herself in This One

p20160707-235634-02

Author: Amanda Lovelace
Genres:
Poetry
Pages: 157
Published: April 2016
My Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | Createspace | Barnes & Noble

Where do I even start with this… The Princess Saves Herself in This One is a collection of poetry in four parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, and you. Honestly, I have a hard time calling this poetry because it’s more than that. This collection is raw emotion and life experiences manifested as words. It’s pain, suffering, self-reflection, self-discovery, love, loss, and more. I could spend years reading and re-reading it, carefully editing this draft, and I still wouldn’t be able to do it justice.

As I read this, I had a couple of thoughts between sudden outbursts of tears. One was that I hadn’t read a collection of poetry that I related to and felt the words so deeply since my first encounter with Sylvia Plath’s poetry when I was a teenager. The second was that I probably should have read it with tissues and wine.

I’ve had book hangovers before, but what I’m experiencing after reading The Princess Saves Herself in This One isn’t a book hangover, it’s a haunting. The words won’t leave me, and I’m ok with that. I bought the Kindle edition of this because A) I could have it and read it faster, and B) money was tight when I bought it. But, I think I’m going to order a physical copy ASAP because I want this on my poetry shelf. Something this important, something that touched my life in the way this book did (which I can’t convey in words, so I’m not going to try)… it deserves a spot on my shelf. I’m certain this will be something I read again…and again.

About battybibliophile

If you’ve somehow found your way to this blog, hello! I created this blog for (mostly) book related posts. I’m not entirely certain about the potential content that will find its way here, but I have some ideas. I will probably use this space for reviewing books, posting short thoughts on what I’m reading (or planning to read), quotes, rants, etc.
This entry was posted in book recommendations, book review, books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review: The Princess Saves Herself in This One

  1. Pingback: March Wrap Up | Caffeine and Books

  2. Pingback: Must Read Mondays: National Poetry Month Edition | Caffeine and Books

  3. kathylsalt says:

    This sounds absolutely beautiful…

    Like

  4. I’m not the biggest poetry fan (in fact, I don’t think I’ve read poetry in 8 years) but the title of this one… Ooohhh, I so have to read it now!
    I hope to experience at least half of your emotions 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

