The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton: First Impressions

20170119_100111

I took this in front of a window with melting ice and ended up loving the weirdness. It’s like a filter without going through the trouble of actually using a photo editor.

The Miniaturist is the debut novel from Jessie Burton. It was published in 2014, received a lot of hype online, and has been sitting on my TBR ever since. I think I even purchased the book that year, but never got around to reading it. Now, here I am, 2.5 years later and completely ignorant about it. I don’t know how I managed it, but I’ve forgotten everything I learned about it from people online and reading the synopsis. Now I am stubbornly refusing to read anything about it because I like going into books a little unaware of what to expect.

But that’s not the point of this. I wanted to do a quick post and talk about my first impressions, now that I’m finally reading this book.

The Cover:

I think we can probably mostly agree that it has a striking, memorable cover. I personally love it, and I think the cover was what caught my attention originally. (I actually wanted the other cover more, which is the UK edition I think, but I decided not to go through the hassle of ordering it.)

The Story:

I’m 10% (40 pages) into this book and I honestly keep whispering “What the hell am I reading?” It isn’t bad, and I think I like the writing, but it’s definitely not what I was expecting. What was I expecting? I have no clue, but it isn’t this. It’s strange and a little mysterious, and more than once it has made me a little uncomfortable with the phrasing of things. For example, this (out of context and partial) quote: “…the wet clam dribble…” I had to re-read the paragraph that line is taken from several times because I thought I was misreading some of it.

So far, this book seems like it will be memorable. Whether that’s a good thing or a bad thing, though…Well, I have no idea yet. I feel like this will be a book I’ll either really enjoy/love, or one I will vehemently hate.

 

If you’ve read The Miniaturist, what did you think? Did you like it? Hate it? Did it live up to the hype for you?

 

About battybibliophile

If you’ve somehow found your way to this blog, hello! I created this blog for (mostly) book related posts. I’m not entirely certain about the potential content that will find its way here, but I have some ideas. I will probably use this space for reviewing books, posting short thoughts on what I’m reading (or planning to read), quotes, rants, etc.
This entry was posted in adult fiction, books, first impressions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

