New Year’s Resolution Book Tag

8aa6812c-1b21-4f78-aa3d-5f52f5c31065_zpsj3dwiktq

A few of my resolutions that aren’t e-books

I saw this tag on Jenn–Thrice Read’s blog (she got it from The Restless Reader) and I decided I had to do it. Why? Because doing book tags that interest me is one of my New Year’s Resolutions, and this seems like the perfect place to start. I’m trying to use only books I already own for these prompts, so I’m crossing my fingers and hoping to get to them all, but I’ll be happy if I get through most of them.

 

 

 

 

An author you’d like to read (that you’ve never read before)

Joyce Carol Oates. I know, I know, I should have read something of hers before now. Hopefully soon, since I found Black Dahlia & White Rose at a discount store recently.

A book you’d like to read

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. How I’ve managed to not read it yet is a mystery because I loved the Grisha trilogy. (It’s really not a mystery. It was reading slumps. Evil, horrible reading slumps.)

A book you’d like to re-read

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams. (Actually, I want to re-read the entire “trilogy.”)

A book you’ve had for ages and want to read

Hahahaha! So many! I’m going to go with…The Little Friend by Donna Tartt. I bought this book when it came out in paperback over ten years ago. And I still haven’t read it.

A big book you’d like to read

I want to tackle Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy this year. I’ve wanted to read it since jr. high, and I finally have the edition I wanted, so I think it’s time.

An author you’ve previously read and want to read more of

Jane Austen. I’ve only read Pride & Prejudice and I wasn’t a big fan. But, my perspective has changed, so I’d like to give her books another chance.

A book you got for Christmas and would like to read

We don’t celebrate Christmas, but around that time my husband bought me The Complete Stories of Flannery O’Connor and I’m dying to read it. It’s so pretty and has been on my wishlist for a couple of years now. Flannery O’Connor will also be a new-to-me author.

A series you want to read (start and finish)

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. I have Cinder, but I’ve been putting off reading this series until I knew I could afford to buy the rest of them as soon as I start Cinder. I’m 99% sure I’m going to love them.

A series you want to finish (that you’ve already started)

The Parasol Protectorate by Gail Carriger. I read the first two books a few years ago, fell in love, but couldn’t get my hands on the rest for a long time. Now I finally own them all and can’t wait to read them.

Do you set reading goals? If so, how many books do you want to read in 2017?

Usually, yes. However, I realized that for two years in a row I struggled to read. I kept putting so much pressure on myself to read more, read outside my comfort zone, review more, etc., and I’ve basically been in a giant slump for two years. This year my goal is 12 books. More than that is wonderful, but I just want reading to be fun again.

 

 

Bloopers from my attempts to get that one almost-ok picture, featuring my husband’s cat

 

Do you set reading resolutions? If you do, tell me about yours for 2017!

If you’ve read some of these, which one do you think I should read first?

 

About battybibliophile

If you’ve somehow found your way to this blog, hello! I created this blog for (mostly) book related posts. I’m not entirely certain about the potential content that will find its way here, but I have some ideas. I will probably use this space for reviewing books, posting short thoughts on what I’m reading (or planning to read), quotes, rants, etc.
This entry was posted in book tags/memes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Year’s Resolution Book Tag

  1. Pingback: March Wrap Up | Caffeine and Books

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer | Caffeine and Books

Leave a Reply

