T5W: Book Trends You’re Tired Of

t5w

T5W is a weekly meme created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey, now hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. You can check out the goodreads group to learn more.

I’ve followed T5W for a while, probably at least since Sam started hosting, but I’ve never felt like I was “allowed” to join in. Somehow, I missed the goodreads group until recently, and that’s when I found out that it’s open to anyone, so yay! This is my first week, but I’m hoping to do this regularly.

February 8th: Book Trends You’re Tired Of
— What are some things you are tired of seeing that are trends in publishing? Maybe something that pops up on a lot of covers these days, or the popularity of certain tropes in a particular genre? Let it out!

Everyone is straight, white, and able-bodied.

Really? Really? This isn’t even just insulting to people looking for representation in fiction (because let’s face it, a lot of the representation that is out there is not good, and there’s still a lot of racist and ableist stuff making it into books), it’s completely unrealistic. I want to see more books with representation written by people who know what they’re talking about. Diversity seems to be a trend these days, which is awful. It shouldn’t be a trend so a book can be marketed as having [insert “representation” here].

Real people on the covers

I’m not talking about movie covers (which used to annoy me, but explaining why my opinion has changed would make this super long), but the ones like these:

11614718 2282133  I think this trend is starting to ebb a little, finally, but I still think it’s weird.

Insta-love and love triangles

I’ve just never gotten insta-love. I could understand insta-crush, insta-lust, or even “I just met this person, but I think I could fall in love with them.” But going from an introduction to being ready to die for them in a very short time period is honestly kinda creepy to me, because that feels more like obsession than love. I lumped triangles in with the insta-love because I see them happening together a lot. I was tired of love triangles before they were even this popular, and really just want it to stop.

Cover Changes (and other physical alterations)

You start a new series, you buy the first [whatever number] of books in the series, and then…they change the style of the cover. Why?! I’ve also had the problem of buying the first book, or the first several, and then when the latest book comes out it’s just a tiny bit shorter, taller, or wider than the other books, which totally throws off how they look on a shelf. Ugh.

Millionaire/Billionaire/CEO love interest

I have no clue how this got started. My first thought is probably 50 Shades, but I think it might predate those. Regardless, I’m really sick of it. I think I’ve only actually read a few like this, but I can’t browse romance or erotica without stumbling across at least a dozen that all sound exactly the same. There’s the girl without a lot of money, usually on the younger side, sometimes “plain” in appearance, and then this super rich and powerful, ultra hot guy suddenly becomes infatuated with her. He’s usually an ass, but of course he has a soft side he shows only to her! Uuuuuggggh. Every time I read the description of one of those, I think I sprain my eyeballs from rolling them so hard.

 

What are trends you’re tired of seeing?

3 thoughts on “T5W: Book Trends You’re Tired Of

  1. The perfectication (not a word 😀 but you get what I mean) of characters drives me insane. Why can’t they talk about all the people. We’re such a diverse species, still only the white, straight and indeed able bodied get a voice. I’m glad that a lot of people are speaking up about this. It’s time for some change!

    Like

  2. I totally agree with you on the straight, white able bodied ! It gets so tiring to read the same story with 0 diversity. And it is sad that diversity is seen as a cool trend rather than a legitimate effort to give people positive rep. I am optimistic that were seeing more own voices books though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

