Terrifying TBRs and Overdue Reviews

*cue ominous music*

I fell out of the bookish world for most of 2016. I think we can all agree that it wasn’t exactly a good year, both for many people on a personal level, as well as globally. While I love books, and reading has been an escape most of my life, this last year was different. Things were more difficult and I had less downtime in my life, and when I could finally carve out a few minutes to unwind, I didn’t have the mental clarity to read much.

But that didn’t stop me from continuing to add books to my TBR (on my actual shelves, and on goodreads). Oh no, quite the opposite. I think I might have added more books to my reading list last year than in any other year in recent memory. Now that things are starting to calm down (she says reluctantly, but with hope), I’m daunted by the numbers. But, I’m also feeling excited about books and reading again for the first time in over a year, so that’s nice.

And then there are the reviews I didn’t write. Last year, I had a few books from Net Galley that IĀ never read. I started all of them, but I couldn’t even force myself to read them, and I didn’t try very hard because I knew it would negatively influence my review. If I’m in a bad mood, depressed, whatever, and I try to then force myself to do something, I’m going to resent it.

Now I’m not sure if I should pick them back up, finish them, and review them (extremely) late, or accept that I failed and might never get books from some of those publishers again because I didn’t live up to my end of things.

Do any of you know if it’s worse to not review at all, or review months late for Net Galley books?

Leave a Reply

