T5W: Favorite Non-Written Novels

t5w

T5W is a weekly meme created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey, now hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. You can check out the goodreads group to learn more.

February 15th: Favorite Non-Written Novels
–This was a hard topic to name, but this is about all books that are not ‘written’ novels! So graphic novels, comics, manga, audiobooks, etc. Shed some light on books in other forms.

I had to think about this all month, and I’m still struggling to decide what to use for this. I don’t listen to many audiobooks, and I’ve only gotten into comics and graphic novels in the last couple of years. But, here’s what I’ve come up with (in no particular order…except I think the first is my favorite):

 
18659623

 


Through the Woods
by Emily Carroll
is a collection of five creepy, fairy tale-ish or folklore-ish stories that are a little on the creepy side.

 

 

 

25074849

 

Bitch Planet by Kelly Sue DeConnick is a
comic series in a dystopan future where “non-
compliant” women are sent to a prison off-world.
I’ve only read the first two issues thus
far, but I love it and can’t wait to read more.

 

 

 

 
26970967

 

 

Wytches by Scott Snyder is story about witches like you’ve never seen them. It’s horror, it’s dark and a bit graphic, and it even managed to creep out me, the jaded-horror-buff.

 

 

 

 

97486

 

 

The Crow by J. O’Barr has to get a mention on this list,
because the movie is one of my all-
time favorites. If you’ve only seen the movie, don’t go into this graphic novel expecting the exact same story. The major themes are the same, but there were differences (if I remember correctly).

 

 

 

24013985

 

 

Edward Scissorhands, vol. 1: Parts Unknown by Kate Leth isn’t an adaptation of, or a direct sequel to the movie. This picks up two generation later, with Kim’s granddaughter–Megs. I enjoyed this, but not as much as I’d hoped. The art was my favorite part, and I think it had potential to get really good, so I’ll probably pick up volume 2 at some point.

 

 

 

 

Have you read any of these? What are some of your favorite “non-written” novels?

About battybibliophile

If you’ve somehow found your way to this blog, hello! I created this blog for (mostly) book related posts. I’m not entirely certain about the potential content that will find its way here, but I have some ideas. I will probably use this space for reviewing books, posting short thoughts on what I’m reading (or planning to read), quotes, rants, etc.
This entry was posted in book tags/memes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to T5W: Favorite Non-Written Novels

  1. CMG says:

    I’ll have to check out Wytches!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nancy says:

    Loved Through the Woods!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

