T5W: Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

t5w

T5W is a weekly meme created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey, now hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. You can check out the goodreads group to learn more.

 

February 22nd: Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump
–Winter is a hard season for a lot of people and many of us are slumpy. Let’s talk about some books that are great for getting you out of a slump!

This was a little difficult for me because I’ve been in what feels like a never-ending reading slump for two years. But, I finally thought of a few books that have helped me snap out of it and get back to reading, at least for a while. These aren’t in a preference order, but reverse chronological, starting with the book that helped me most recently.

 

30375703
The Valiant
by Lesley Livingston! I have been in a mild book slump all year, but reading this was just the boost I needed to break its hold. The Valiant follows Fallon, daughter of a Celtic king, who has been captured by Roman slavers. She’s taken back to Rome where she ends up in a training academy for female gladiators. You can check out my review here.

 

 

 

 

 

17675462
The Raven Boys
by Maggie Stiefvater (actually the entire Raven Cycle series) destroyed me last year. I’d put off reading the first book until right before the last one came out, so I could basically binge read the whole thing. It was so worth the wait. I can’t even think of how to explain this book/series, so I won’t try because I will not do it justice.

 

 

 

 

 

 

23734628
Carry On
by Rainbow Rowell is the story of Simon–probably the most inadequate “chosen one” ever–and Baz, his possibly evil roommate who seems to be missing their last year at Watford School of Magicks. There’s drama, adventure, romance, mystery, and a magic eating monster on the loose.

 

 

 

 

 

32334098
The Princess Saves Herself in this One
by Amanda Lovelace is a collection of poetry that I recommend to everyone I meet who might even have the tiniest interest in poetry (and sometimes to people with no interest). I reviewed the original, self-published version here, but I also just picked up the new Andrews-McMeel edition, which has 40 (I believe) new poems, so I’m really excited to re-read it and experience the new content.

 

 

 

 

23395680
Illuminae
by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff was a book I knew I was going to love, from the first moment I heard about it on booktube. When I finally got it, I devoured it in a day and wanted more immediately. The fast-paced and unique format made this a quick read that dragged me out of a slump.

 

 

 

 

 


Ok, I have to cheat and give an honorable mention shout-out to the other two series I considered including:

621931313
Storm Front
(book 1 of The Dresden Files)
by Jim Butcher

and

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the
Galaxy by Douglas Adams.

 

 

 

Both are dear to my heart and both have helped me get out of slumps, but I cut them from the main 5 because they were from more distant slumps and I decided to go with the books that have helped me more recently.


Are there any books guaranteed to get you out of a reading slump?

 

About battybibliophile

If you’ve somehow found your way to this blog, hello! I created this blog for (mostly) book related posts. I’m not entirely certain about the potential content that will find its way here, but I have some ideas. I will probably use this space for reviewing books, posting short thoughts on what I’m reading (or planning to read), quotes, rants, etc.
This entry was posted in book recommendations, book tags/memes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to T5W: Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

  1. I’ve been hearing a lot about Valiant! I’m interested to read it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read the Raven Cycle last month! It stole my heart completely.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

