Must Read Monday

15704307
Saga, Vol. 1
by Brian K. Vaughan

When I read it: February 2017

Genres: sci-fi; fantasy; comics/graphic novels

Recommended for: Adult fans of sci-fi and fantasy, especially if you’re into the two being combined.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble

 

What it’s about:

When two soldiers from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war fall in love, they risk everything to bring a fragile new life into a dangerous old universe.

From bestselling writer Brian K. Vaughan, Saga is the sweeping tale of one young family fighting to find their place in the worlds. Fantasy and science fiction are wed like never before in this sexy, subversive drama for adults.

I saw Saga everywhere for a few years. It was on booktube, blogs, twitter, everywhere. I picked up volume 1 a couple of years ago, but I put off reading it because everything I knew about it made me absolutely certain I would love it, and therefore want to be able to get more ASAP. So, I waited. And waited. And then waited some more. But finally, I couldn’t stand it anymore, and I read it. Now I’m totally in love and desperate to get volume 2, because I think this might have been even better than I expected.

I love fantasy, and I really like sci-fi, and this was the perfect blend of both. The description says they’re “wed like never before,” and it’s true. The art is gorgeous, the story was funny and action packed, and I didn’t want to get to the last page.This is just so, so good, and I can’t recommend it enough if it’s your kind of thing.

 

Have you read Saga?

About battybibliophile

If you’ve somehow found your way to this blog, hello! I created this blog for (mostly) book related posts. I’m not entirely certain about the potential content that will find its way here, but I have some ideas. I will probably use this space for reviewing books, posting short thoughts on what I’m reading (or planning to read), quotes, rants, etc.
This entry was posted in must read mondays, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Must Read Monday

  1. I love Saga! It’s the first graphic novel that I read and I fell in love with it immediately. I have read the first four volumes and I can’t wait to continue this series. Hopefully I’ll be able to get my hands on it some time soon. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. chelseareana says:

    Saga is SO GOOD. I absolutely adore the series and it only gets better and more interesting as it goes on. I think I left off at volume three or four, but you’ve reminded me I need to pick it up again. It’s seriously addictive. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

