First Lines Fridays: March 3rd

first-lines-fridays

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?

The Rules:

  • Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page
  • Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first
  • Finally… reveal the book!

 

I’m so late in posting this, aaah! I totally missed last week because I was busy, and then almost missed this week. I need to get better about scheduling these things.


“It has been sixty-four years since the president and the Consortium identified love as a disease, and forty-three since the scientists perfected a cure.”


Interested? Keep reading to find out which book this is from.

down-arrow

 

Delirium by Lauren Oliver

7686667

What it’s about:

In an alternate United States, love has been declared a dangerous disease, and the government forces everyone who reaches eighteen to have a procedure called the Cure. Living with her aunt, uncle, and cousins in Portland, Maine, Lena Haloway is very much looking forward to being cured and living a safe, predictable life. She watched love destroy her mother and isn’t about to make the same mistake.

But with ninety-five days left until her treatment, Lena meets enigmatic Alex, a boy from the “Wilds” who lives under the government’s radar. What will happen if they do the unthinkable and fall in love?

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble


I actually listened to the audiobook of this about two years ago because my library didn’t have a physical copy, but I liked it so much I started  buying the trilogy. I really didn’t expect to enjoy it very much, but it wasn’t really what I expected. I think the concept of love as a disease being the basis for a dystopian trilogy was unique, which was a nice change from the usual YA dystopians I read. I love those, too, but sometimes I need something different.

(Also, Sara Drew as the narrator was pretty great. I think she was the reason I started listening to more audiobooks, because the few I’d tried before this one had narration I didn’t like.)

 

Have you read Delirium? What did you think of it?

About battybibliophile

If you’ve somehow found your way to this blog, hello! I created this blog for (mostly) book related posts. I’m not entirely certain about the potential content that will find its way here, but I have some ideas. I will probably use this space for reviewing books, posting short thoughts on what I’m reading (or planning to read), quotes, rants, etc.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Lines Fridays: March 3rd

  1. Siobhan says:

    That first line is awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

