Must Read Monday

must-read-mondays

 

 

21469108

The Ghosts of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick

When I read it: March 2015

Genres: historical fiction; sci-fi; fantasy; YA-ish?

Recommended for: People who like puzzles, strange books, short stories/novellas that are all part of the same larger story, and are ok with maybe not getting all the answers to their questions.

 

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble


What it’s about:

A bold, genre-bending epic that chronicles madness, obsession, and creation, from the Paleolithic era through the Witch Hunts and into the space-bound future.

Four linked stories boldly chronicle madness, obsession, and creation through the ages. Beginning with the cave-drawings of a young girl on the brink of creating the earliest form of writing, Sedgwick traverses history, plunging into the seventeenth century witch hunts and a 1920s insane asylum where a mad poet’s obsession with spirals seems to be about to unhinge the world of the doctor trying to save him. Sedgwick moves beyond the boundaries of historical fiction and into the future in the book’s final section, set upon a spaceship voyaging to settle another world for the first time. Merging Sedgwick’s gift for suspense with science- and historical-fiction, Ghosts of Heaven is a tale is worthy of intense obsession.


This book was so strange to read, and I actually never figured out how to review it because of that (oops). There’s historical fiction, sci-fi, fantasy, and I’m not even sure what else, and the way they’re blended together is amazing, in my opinion. I think this book got mixed reviews, and I can absolutely see why. This isn’t a book everyone is going to love, but I was lucky enough to be one of the people who did love it. The format allows you to read the four stories in any order you choose, but I read it straight through the first time. Next time I read it (oh yeah, this is a book I’m probably going to re-read many times, until I figure it all out), I’m picking a different order.

It’s a really weird book, it isn’t for everyone, and maybe I’ll hate it the next time I read it. If kinda-trippy-and-mind-bending is what you’re looking for, maybe check this out. To quote or paraphrase pretty much everyone who’s read this book and liked it, “Fucking spirals, man. Spirals everywhere.”

About battybibliophile

If you’ve somehow found your way to this blog, hello! I created this blog for (mostly) book related posts. I’m not entirely certain about the potential content that will find its way here, but I have some ideas. I will probably use this space for reviewing books, posting short thoughts on what I’m reading (or planning to read), quotes, rants, etc.
This entry was posted in book recommendations, must read mondays, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Must Read Monday

  1. chelseareana says:

    Thanks for the recommendation! I hadn’t heard of it before, but have already added it to my to-read list. This seems so interesting. I’ve been wanting to read something a little weird lately. Would you say it’s a pretty dense/best read slowly type of book?

    Like

    • Yay! I hope you enjoy it, if you read it 🙂 I read it in about 3 or 4 days. I think I might have read one part each day, or something like that, and found that pace nice. The reading experience might be different for everyone, or even just different depending on the order you read it in, but I’d say it’s one you don’t need to spend a lot of time on (unless you want to), but maybe more time than something like a light urban fantasy. I don’t know if this helps, but I’ve heard it compared to Cloud Atlas (which I haven’t read).

      Like

Leave a Reply

