T5W: Favorite Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books

top-5-wednesday

T5W is a weekly meme created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey, now hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. You can check out the goodreads group to learn more.

March 8th – Favorite Science Fiction & Fantasy Books
–In collaboration with the BooktubeSFF Awards, talk about your favorite science fiction and fantasy books of all time!

This topic has been so hard because fantasy is probably my favorite genre, and I’m starting to really enjoy sci-fi as well. I think instead of my literal, all-time top five, I’m just going to go with five books I would (or do) recommend the most often. They’re still books I love, they’re definitely favorites, but I could never actually come up with my top five because my list would change at least hourly. (These are also in no particular order.)


3

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s/Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling (actually the entire series)– Of course I have to put these books on this list, because it’s Harry Potter. These books saved my life, and I will love them forever.

 

 

13

 


The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
by Douglas Adams
(the entire trilogy…in five parts)– If you’ve noticed, I mention this book series in almost every post. Why? Because it’s awesome and I love and I try to make everyone read it. It’s funny, it’s fast paced and easy to read, the characters are so great, and I will never shut up about it. This is also the book I usually recommend to people who want to try sci-fi for the first time/give it another shot/etc.

 

23395680

 


Illuminae
by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
 — This is another book I try to get everyone to read. You don’t like sci-fi? Try it anyway, because it’s fantastic and just…different. The format, writing style, and pace make it such a quick read for such a chunky book, and I think this (as well as HHGTTG) is a great intro book for someone who’s not sure if they could get into sci-fi.

 

 

22055262

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab — *screams eternally internally* I don’t even know what to say about this book because it was just so good. Like, life-changing level of good. I read the sample before the first book was released and literally started screaming, and then I finally got it and read it and the screaming hasn’t stopped since.

 

 

~Tie~

1019415723437156
You can’t make me choose between Shadow & Bone and Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo.
Sorry, but I just can’t. I have precious fictional children in both, I instantly fell in love with both, and I may or may not have a shrine to Leigh in my house (I don’t, but I want one). So…I’m just going to count this as one author instead of one book, how’s that? Is that still cheating?


Are any of these your favorites, too? Tell me about your favorite sci-fi and fantasy books!

About battybibliophile

If you’ve somehow found your way to this blog, hello! I created this blog for (mostly) book related posts. I’m not entirely certain about the potential content that will find its way here, but I have some ideas. I will probably use this space for reviewing books, posting short thoughts on what I’m reading (or planning to read), quotes, rants, etc.
This entry was posted in book tags/memes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to T5W: Favorite Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books

  1. embuhlee says:

    I finished the Grisha trilogy recently and have seen Six of Crows popping up everywhere. It’s made a lot of lists for this one, haha. I should probably pick it up… xD

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never read any sci-fi before so maybe Illuminae will be a good introduction for me! Great list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

