T5W: Books You Felt Betrayed By

top-5-wednesday

T5W is a weekly meme created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey, now hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. You can check out the goodreads group to learn more.

 

March 15th- Books You Felt Betrayed By
–Beware the Ides of March! What books (or characters) did you feel betrayed by, for whatever reason…big or small.

Betrayed might be a bit strong for how I felt about a couple of these books, but it’s close enough, and certainly describes how I felt about the last one.


the-miniaturist

 

The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton– I was so excited for this book for so long, but it really let me down. It probably wasn’t really a bad book, but I didn’t like it as much as I’d hoped to, and it wasn’t at all what I expected. More about why I didn’t like it (and what I did like) in my review.

 

 

 

10174795

 

Glow by Amy Kathleen Ryan– Ok, I’m digging through my memories of this book, and my GR review, trying to remember what, exactly, bothered me because this was the first book I thought of when I read the topic for this week. I think a lot of stuff that was revealed at the end. This just…wasn’t what I expected before reading it, or even as I was reading it.

 

 

 

9461872

 

 

Sisterhood Everlasting by Ann Brashares– Ergh, the pain! I was a huge fan of The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, and they were pretty much the only YA I read while I actually was a teenager. I also re-read them a lot, and I loved the girls so much. Then this book happened and destroyed me. I actually threw this book, and it’s one of the few I’ve done that with.

 

 

77115

 

 

The Princess Bride by William Goldman– I want to love this book! I really, really do. The movie is one of my absolute favorites, so I was 100% certain this would become one of my favorite books. But no. I thought I was going to die of boredom while reading this. It took many attempts to finish it, and I kept thinking, “How was the movie so good while the book is so bad?!”

 

 

 

29069989

 


Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne– The best worst for last. This book was so awful. This is another that I actually threw across the room. I hated this book, and it’s one of only a handful in my life that I’ve wished I never bought or read. I’m still angry about it and refuse to accept it as canon. This is really bad fanfic.

 


 

What are some books you felt betrayed by?

About battybibliophile

If you’ve somehow found your way to this blog, hello! I created this blog for (mostly) book related posts. I’m not entirely certain about the potential content that will find its way here, but I have some ideas. I will probably use this space for reviewing books, posting short thoughts on what I’m reading (or planning to read), quotes, rants, etc.
This entry was posted in book tags/memes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to T5W: Books You Felt Betrayed By

  1. I felt the same way about Sisterhood Everlasting at the beginning, it was devastating, but I ended up really liking it and it was one of my favorite books of last year.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I super agree about The Princess Bride. The author went off on super long tangents and it did get boring at parts. It still had the epic parts, but it got a bit too long at parts. Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have heard that about Sister Everlasting, it’s been on my TBR forever for this reason. I feel like everyone feels that way about the Cursed Child! I had a friend who saw the play and said it was so much better and well done. But the script does feel very much like fanfic.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sisterhood Everlasting was still good, but oh my gosh it was heartbreaking. I was ugly crying through so much of it. Ha, yeah, it’s made a lot of these lists. I can see it being a good play, but I just can’t make myself accept it as canon :p

      Like

  4. infictionalworlds says:

    I was very tempted to include Cursed Child on my list, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sisterhood Everlasting was a major stab in the gut. I loved it, but oh man it wasn’t what I was expecting in a Traveling Pants novel.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was so painful, and still one of my most memorable times of being stabbed in the heart by a book. I haven’t been able to read the books or watch the movie again since reading Sisterhood Everlasting 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

