It’s World Poetry Day, so I’m sharing a poem

Most of the posts I’ll be making about poetry are being reserved for April (National Poetry Month in the US), and I’ll be talking about some of my favorite poets and collections of poetry.

But, I’m trying to get over my fear of letting anyone (even my closest and most trusted loved ones) read any of my writing. So, in honor of the day (well, night, since it’s already tomorrow in most of the world), here’s one of my poems :/

 

Unspoken

Expendable.
I taste the word,
weigh it on my tongue and find
it’s right.
Though you’ve never used it.

Sometimes I think I see it
struggling
up your throat and
beating
at the gate of your teeth,
begging you to spit it at me
just once.

But you don’t.

Your lips press it back,
and you force it
down
and
down
til you’re nearly choking,
and I feel like
I should thank you
before I realize that
just because
you didn’t say it
doesn’t mean you aren’t
thinking it.

3 thoughts on “It’s World Poetry Day, so I’m sharing a poem

Leave a Reply

