T5W: Future Classics

top-5-wednesday

T5W is a weekly meme created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey, now hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. You can check out the goodreads group to learn more.

 

March 29th- Future Classics
–Let us know the books you think will be considered classics one day!

 

Why have all the topics this month been so difficult? Oh well. To make this easier on myself (and really narrow things down more), I’m not including anything I know is already considered a “modern classic,” but some of these might already be considered that, I’m not sure.


1221381

 

 

The Road by Cormac McCarthy– I actually don’t remember much about this book, but I do remember feelings. This was a sparsely written, gritty book, set in nuclear winter (if I’m not mistaken), and I loved it. I think this one might stand the test of time.

 

 

 

ari-and-dante

 

 

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz– I think the writing and the story make this a timeless book that will still be discussed quite a while from now.

 

 

 

19063

 

 

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak– Full disclosure here: I haven’t read this one yet. I know, I know, everyone and their grandmother has read and loved it. That’s why it made my list. This one is truly well-loved, and from what little I know about it, seems to be an emotional and powerful story.

 

 

 

2429135

 

 

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson– I think this trilogy is destined to be a classic someday, and I can absolutely see it making reading lists for university classes.

 

 

 

 

1232

 

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón– This book is so beautifully written and so captivating, I can’t imagine it not becoming a classic someday.

 

 

 

 


What are some books you think will be classics in the future?

7 thoughts on “T5W: Future Classics

  1. This is my first month ever participating, and I agree the topics have definitely been challenging! Great choices though! I so need to read Aristotle and Dante Discover at some point. I feel like it’s been on my TBR shelf forever.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

