Must Read Mondays: National Poetry Month Edition

must-read-mondays

Must Read Mondays is a weekly thing I do here (well, most weeks) to share some of my favorite books. April is National Poetry Month, so I’ll be featuring poetry books I’ve loved.

 

the princess saves 32334098
herself in this one

by Amanda Lovelace

When I read it: I first read the self-published edition in June of 2016, and I just read the newly released Andrews McMeel published version last month.

Recommended for: I recommend this to anyone and everyone, but if you have triggers to watch out for, you might want to read some reviews first to see if it will be a problem for you.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble


Description:

the princess saves herself in this one is a collection of poetry about resilience. It is about writing your own ending.

From Amanda Lovelace, a poetry collection in four parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, and you. The first three sections piece together the life of the author while the final section serves as a note to the reader. This moving book explores love, loss, grief, healing, empowerment, and inspiration.


I didn’t review the new edition (which is a bit longer than the original), but here’s the link to my review of the self-published version.

This collection of poetry is so important to me, and I don’t think I’ll ever be able to properly express why that is and all the ways it affected me. I know that reading this helped me along in healing, and it was sort of a guiding light for me getting back to writing poetry, too. I’d given up on writing in general, because I kept thinking, “What’s the point? I’ll never get published, anyway.” I know, writing isn’t supposed to just be about getting published, but I was in a dark place (and I’ve always been extremely critical of anything I’ve created), and letting go of writing was easier. This book gave me hope.

I had so many feelings about this book while reading it both times, and I flip through it a lot to re-read my favorites. It’s not really an easy collection of poetry to read, but it’s powerful, and empowering. I suggest having some tissues and maybe comfort food (like chocolate…and/or a glass of wine) handy if you pick this one up.

This is one of the poetry collections I recommend to people most often because the style and lengths of the pieces make it appealing to many people, even some who rarely or never read poetry. If you’re looking for a way to test out poetry to see if it’s something you could enjoy, this is one book I would suggest picking up.


Have you read it? What did you think? If you have poetry recommendations, I would love to hear about them!

About battybibliophile

If you’ve somehow found your way to this blog, hello! I created this blog for (mostly) book related posts. I’m not entirely certain about the potential content that will find its way here, but I have some ideas. I will probably use this space for reviewing books, posting short thoughts on what I’m reading (or planning to read), quotes, rants, etc.
This entry was posted in book tags/memes, must read mondays and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

