Tome Topple Read-a-Thon: Half Point Update

DSC_0051 (3)

Ok, so the halfway point was yesterday, and I’m late, but I’ve been ill most of this week and really dropping the ball with basically everything, including blogging :/ Oops.

The Journey So Far:

I started with The Little Friend by Donna Tartt. This book has been on my shelf for well over a decade, and I’ve tried to read it at least half a dozen times. I never made it beyond about page 5. This time, I tried the audiobook and alternated between reading and listening. I made it about 100 pages in and decided I hate the book and will never finish it. It’s now permanently shelved “DNF” and I’m unhauling it whenever I can make it to a used bookshop.

Then I moved on to Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy. This one has been on my TBR for, well, basically forever, but I’ve only owned three copies. Yeah, only three copies. One was a Kindle freebie, though. Anyway, I’ve tried to read this more times than I can count and never made it more than about 10 pages in. I finally picked up the Pevear/Volokhonsky translation, which I really enjoy, but I’ve still only made it to page 43. Ouch. I think I’m just not in the right mood, so I’m just going to try to get through it by the end of this year.

Finally, I picked up East of Eden by John Steinbeck. I’ve only read The Grapes of Wrath and The Pearl, but I like Steinbeck’s style. I didn’t realize until recently that apparently liking his writing is an unpopular opinion. I was always under the impression that his writing was generally liked/loved. I’ve had the most success with this one, flying through a whopping 138 pages in the first 24 hours of reading it. I think I’ll actually finish this one by the end of the read-a-thon.

I might not finish multiple tomes this round, or even make it through a significant chunk of more than one, but I’m ok with that. My goal was to just get through as much of at least one book as possible, and I think I’ll succeed at that.


If you’re participating, how’s Tome Topple going for you?

Leave a Reply

