Must Read Mondays: National Poetry Month Edition

must-read-mondays

Must Read Mondays is a weekly thing I do here (well, most weeks) to share some of my favorite books. April is National Poetry Month, so I’ll be featuring poetry books I’ve loved.

 

30325231the chaos of longing by K.Y. Robinson

 

When I read it: March 2017

Recommended for: I would recommend it to most people, whether you already love poetry or not. If you enjoyed milk & honey or the princess saves herself in this one, I think you’ll like this one.

 

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble

 


Description:

The Chaos of Longing is a prose and poetry collection draped in raw honesty, ache, and eroticism. The collection explores trauma, love, heartbreak, and the realizations from it all.

The book is divided into four sections. “Inception” briefly examines formative years and its effects on how one loves. “Longing” reflects on love and sexuality. “Chaos” explores toxic relationships, unrequited love, and heartache. After chaos, there is order with self-love and healing poems in “epiphany”.

Some content may be triggering.


This has been on my TBR since it was published, I believe, but it took a while for me to get around to it. I’ve been on a bit of a poetry reading binge this year, and I was really excited to get to this one. I feel like I read it at exactly the right time, and I found it so moving and powerful. I gave it 5/5 stars and I’m recommending it to pretty much everyone. But, I bolded the trigger comment in the description because I think it could be triggering for some people, so maybe look for reviews that mention that if you’re concerned. I can’t wait to read more by K.Y. Robinson in the future.

If you’re up for being hit right in the feels, this is the poetry book for you.


Have you read it? What did you think?

About battybibliophile

If you’ve somehow found your way to this blog, hello! I created this blog for (mostly) book related posts. I’m not entirely certain about the potential content that will find its way here, but I have some ideas. I will probably use this space for reviewing books, posting short thoughts on what I’m reading (or planning to read), quotes, rants, etc.
This entry was posted in book tags/memes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

