must-read-mondays

Must Read Mondays is a weekly thing I do here to feature some of my favorite books. April is National Poetry Month, so I’ll be recommending poetry books I’ve enjoyed.

 

29564608
Dirty Pretty Things by Michael Faudet

 

When I read it: March 2017

Recommended for: I think I would recommend this individually because there are some recurring themes that aren’t for everyone.

 

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble

 


Description:

Dirty Pretty Things is the international bestseller by Michael Faudet. A finalist in the 2015 Goodreads Readers Choice Awards, his whimsical and often erotic writing has already captured the hearts and minds of literally thousands of readers from around the world.

He paints vivid pictures with intricate words and explores the compelling themes of love, loss, relationships, and sex. All beautifully captured in poetry, prose, quotes, and little short stories.


I came out of reading this with some mixed feelings, but I gave it 4/5 stars. I really enjoyed the style and I felt a connection to quite a few of the pieces, but I’ve related to and enjoyed other poetry collections more.

But, this one is getting a MRM feature because I think Michael’s style is among the more accessible styles out there (like the princess saves herself in this onemilk & honey, etc.), but a little closer to styles I was more familiar with until recently. Basically, if you like newer poetry, like that of Amanda Lovelace, Rupi Kaur, etc., but you also like a bit of older poetry (like Plath, Bukowski, etc.), I think you might like this collection.

I enjoyed it enough to go out and buy his second book the first time I visited a bookstore after reading this one, and I’m looking forward to reading more by him in the future.


Have you read any of Michael Faudet’s poetry?

About battybibliophile

If you’ve somehow found your way to this blog, hello! I created this blog for (mostly) book related posts. I’m not entirely certain about the potential content that will find its way here, but I have some ideas. I will probably use this space for reviewing books, posting short thoughts on what I’m reading (or planning to read), quotes, rants, etc.
This entry was posted in book tags/memes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

