First Lines Fridays: April 28th

first-lines-fridays

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?

The Rules:

  • Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page
  • Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first

Finally… reveal the book!

 


“Looking back, none of this would have happened if I’d brought lip gloss the night of the Homecoming Dance.


 

Interested? Keep reading to find out which book this is from.

 

down-arrow

 

Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

8475505What it’s about:

Harper Price, peerless Southern belle, was born ready for a Homecoming tiara. But after a strange run-in at the dance imbues her with incredible abilities, Harper’s destiny takes a turn for the seriously weird. She becomes a Paladin, one of an ancient line of guardians with agility, super strength and lethal fighting instincts.

Just when life can’t get any more disastrously crazy, Harper finds out who she’s charged to protect: David Stark, school reporter, subject of a mysterious prophecy and possibly Harper’s least favorite person. But things get complicated when Harper starts falling for him—and discovers that David’s own fate could very well be to destroy Earth.

With snappy banter, cotillion dresses, non-stop action and a touch of magic, this new young adult series from bestseller Rachel Hawkins is going to make y’all beg for more.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble


This book has been on my TBR since before it came out, but I still haven’t read it. I bought it at least a year ago and I think this was the first time I even opened it :/ Oops. I thought this sounded interesting, in the funny and cute kind of way, I just never got around to reading it because I forgot I owned it. (How many times can I say “oops” before it gets annoying?) Maybe I’ll bump this up my TBR a bit because I feel like I’m getting into a reading slump, and cute, easy books usually help me get out of them.


Have you read it? What did you think of it?

4 thoughts on “First Lines Fridays: April 28th

  1. I really want to read this book but I’ve also heard that the rest of the series isn’t that good. And I’m one of those readers who feel like I have to finish a series if I start it. I may just pick it up still. Also, I love this blog post feature and may have to try it out myself

    Liked by 1 person

    • I used to be like that (about finishing a series), and I still usually am, but I’ve reached a point of not wanting to waste time on books I don’t like. Life’s too short and all that 😛 Yay! I think this is such a fun weekly thing and I love checking out everyone’s posts for it, so let me know if you join in!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

