First Lines Fridays: May 12th

first-lines-fridays

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?

The Rules:

  • Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page
  • Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first

Finally… reveal the book!

 


“The story so far:
In the beginning the Universe was created.
This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move.”
 


 

Interested? Keep reading to find out which book this is from.

 

down-arrow

The Restaurant at the the End of the Universe by Douglas Adams (The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy #2)

8695What it’s about:

Facing annihilation at the hands of the warlike Vogons? Time for a cup of tea! Join the cosmically displaced Arthur Dent and his uncommon comrades in arms in their desperate search for a place to eat, as they hurtle across space powered by pure improbability.

 

 

 

 

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble


I realized just now that this is two weeks in a row that I’ve used sci-fi books. I’m actually not much of a sci-fi reader, but it’s pretty much all I’ve wanted to read lately.

Normally I wouldn’t use a second book in a series for this, but I’m re-reading The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy right now and I still think I liked the second book more. I remember thinking it was better when I first read the series a few years ago, and my opinions haven’t changed much. Ok, that’s not entirely true. I thought the first book was good, but now that I’m actually a fan of the series, I like it a lot more than I did the first time around. But, the opening to The Restaurant at the End of the Universe is still one of my favorite opening lines (or book quotes, in general) ever, so I had to use it.


Have you read this series? What did you think of it?

2 thoughts on “First Lines Fridays: May 12th

Leave a Reply

