The “This is My Genre, Tell Me Yours” Book Tag

I was tagged about a million years ago (back in February, oops :/ ) by Books & Hot Tea, and I totally forgot to do it. I blame not having a 2017 datebook yet, because I fail that hard at being organized. Anyway, I’m going to do it now, because better late than never, right?

 

thisismtgenrenrwlogo

First things first, here are the rules:

  • Credit  Drew @ TheTattooedBookGeek as the creator of the tag, use the created tag name graphic and link back to his blog. (Also, if you want to learn more about the tag you can see Drew’s post HERE.)
  • Answer the questions.
  • Tag as many people as you want.

And now, let’s get to the questions!


1. What is your favourite genre?

This is kind of a difficult question for me right now because I’m in a weird place with reading. But, I’m going with fantasy because it’s the genre I read the most, and usually enjoy.

 

2. Who is your favourite author from the genre?

I don’t really have a single favorite. I love V.E. Schwab, Leigh Bardugo, and Jim Butcher, though, so how about I leave those and call them my top 3 favorites?

 

3. What is it about the genre that keeps pulling you back?

I think it’s the vastness of it. There are so many things to work with (magic systems, creatures like unicorns and dragons, different worlds, etc.), and it’s easy to get lost in them for a while when I need a break from reality and/or anything resembling reality.

 

4. What is the book that started your love for the genre?

109137I genuinely have no idea because I’ve been reading since I was 3, and6319 I’ve long forgotten most of what I read before middle school. I know I liked fantasy a lot already before Harry Potter came to the U.S. (I was 9 then, I think)… I started reading Roald Dahl in kindergarten, so it was probably one of these, I just don’t know which one.6327

 

5. If you had to recommend at least one book from your favourite genre to a non-reader/someone looking to start reading that genre, what book would you choose and why?

6219313

 

Oh gosh, that would probably be something I would come up with on a case by case basis. But, one I would probably suggest is Storm Front by Jim Butcher. It isn’t super long, it’s urban fantasy so there’s not a lot to learn about the universe (like the family trees, maps, etc. more common with high fantasy), he has a fun writing style with wit and sarcasm, his characters are distinct and well-written, and his books are just a good time.

6. Why do you read?

I just love it. I’ve loved books longer than I can remember, but I grew up not really having access to many. Books were precious to me, and I think that really influenced my adult hoarding of them. Books have always been a comfort and escape for me because I didn’t have anything close to a happy childhood, and even now I feel calmer and safer when I’m surrounded by books. I’m in it for the stories and characters, too, but books are basically my life-long security blanket.

 


I feel like I’m going to fall asleep on my computer, so I’m not tagging anyone.

But, if you find this here and want to do it, I tag you! Please do it and tag me so I can see your answers 🙂

 

6 thoughts on “The “This is My Genre, Tell Me Yours” Book Tag

Leave a Reply

