T5W: Summer Reads

top-5-wednesday

T5W is a weekly meme created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey, now hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. You can check out the goodreads group to learn more.

 

May 17th: Summer Reads
–The weather is heating up (for half of the world), so what books remind you of summer and are your quintessential summer reads?

 

I kind of read whatever, whenever, but these books all came to mind immediately. (I’m cheating by listing series, aren’t I? Oh well, I based this list off what I did read/would read in the summer, and back when I regularly started a series still in progress.)

As usual, in no particular order…


The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series by Ann Brashares

214438 5454 264061 5453 9461872

I can’t remember which season these came out, but I’m pretty sure it was usually summer, which would make sense because I think that’s the season they’re all set in. I was obsessed with these in high school and even got a few friends interested. I wish I’d kept my copies (I never had the 5th and refuse to acknowledge its existence because no) so I could re-read them whenever.

 

The Percy Jackson Series by Rick Riordan

28187 28186 561456 2120932 4556058

Another series set in summer that I really enjoyed. I didn’t read these until I was in my 20s (they started coming out when I was in high school), but they were still fun and I wish they’d been around when I was a kid because I think I would have loved them.

 

The Anita Blake series by Laurell K. Hamilton

631329

 

I am not even going to try to put up covers for all of those, eesh (there are more than 20). This is my “hate read and live blog it” series. And for some reason, I always get the Anita Blake itch around May, like clockwork. If I ever get to go back to the library, I’ll probably hate blog some more. (I think I hated the first book, liked a few that followed, then started the hate blogging, but I’m not sure now.)

 

 

The Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich

7167595

This is another one I won’t bother with all the covers, because it also has more than 20 books. I’ve only read like 5 of them, I think, because the library doesn’t have some of them and I’m not invested enough to buy them. I do like them, but I’m rarely in the mood to read them. It’s usually summer when I am in the mood, though.

 

 

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

ari-and-dante

I actually didn’t read this during the summer, but it’s one I’ll probably re-read in summer at some point. I loved this book, it was beautiful, and one that I think really did deserve the hype that surrounded it.

 

 


Did any of your summer favorites make my list?

9 thoughts on “T5W: Summer Reads

  1. Nel says:

    I’ve collected up to the 16 of the Stephanie Plum novels from library sales but I haven’t read any of them yet! I tried Anita Blake series for about 3 or 4 books and then I gave up. I can’t remember why though.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Nel says:

        I have a problem where I go to book sales and see that paperbacks are 25 cents and I feel like I can’t not buy them especially when they’re in pristine condition! I just did the same thing with Jill Shalvis’ Heartbreaker series. They were brand new 25 cents. I may or may not ever read them but that’s a steal I couldn’t pass up!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

