Book Review: love, & you by Gretchen Gomez

34335011Genres: poetry

Why I read it: I follow Gretchen’s blog, and I follow her on twitter, so I was anxiously awaiting release day for this one! (Then, of course, life happened and it took a month for me to actually get it, but I finally did!)

Who I’d recommend it to: If you’ve had a bad relationship, had your heart broken, or just want an accessible poetry collection, this is for you.

 

My rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

 

 

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble


Description:

one day i met a guy
who stole my heart,
we created a world
for ourselves.
and another day
he broke my heart
and shattered
my soul.

i took the tattered
pieces of this
broken soul and
became anew.

– here lies the hurting, the healing, and the learning


Review:

You know I have to take a moment to talk about this cover. I think it’s gorgeous, and I found out that the designer, Islam Farid, has actually been behind several covers I’ve fallen in love with recently, including this one. The black/white/red color scheme is one of my absolute favorites for literally anything (my nails are currently bright red with an accent nail on each that’s black and white striped), and I love the silhouette on this being white on a black background. I feel like that isn’t done a lot, and I love it.

The words, though. This was an emotional read that reminded me a lot of how I felt the first time I read the princess saves herself in this one. Do you ever read something and feel the words echo through your soul because they could be about you? I won’t say I felt that way about every poem in this collection, because I didn’t, but there were several that squeezed my heart and brought tears to my eyes.

I love that it isn’t broken up into sections, but still reads like a journey through different phases. The earlier poems had my heart breaking, but the ones toward the end patched me up, and might have left me in better shape than before I started the book.

One of my favorites that I’ve read several times was this one (pg. 117 in the paperback):

don’t waste time
regretting the
time you wasted

you
can
never
take
back
time

make time for
yourself now

rub self care on like oil

 

By the end of this book, I wanted to hug Gretchen and thank her, and maybe pour both of us a drink. It was painful and beautiful and brutally honest, and I wish younger versions of me had been able to read this book. Maybe I would have felt stronger sooner, learned to love myself a little earlier, and possibly avoided making some mistakes with my heart.

It’s not a light and fluffy read, but it ends with some empowering poems about self-love and taking care of yourself, and remembering that love isn’t supposed to hurt.

This is one I’ve already been recommending to people, and I’m sure that will continue. I can definitely see myself re-reading this a lot, and I’ll possibly be gifting it to people eventually. (I only say “possibly” because I don’t have many reader friends, and even fewer who enjoy poetry.)

If you like poetry that’s accessible (not overly steeped in metaphors and the like), but can punch you right in the feels with the emotions the words evoke, you need to read this.


If this sounds like something you might like, the kindle edition is on sale today for $0.99!

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review: love, & you by Gretchen Gomez

  1. THIS IS SO BEAUTIFUL!!! I CAN’T EVEN RIGHT NOW!! let’s pour each other a drink please and toast to living and self-loving one another! I am so down for that lol.
    Honestly though, I am so happy that you took so much away from my collection. Means a lot to me that you read it. I am speechless. Thank you ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

