T5W: Fandoms I’ve Drifted From

top-5-wednesday

T5W is a weekly meme created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey, now hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. You can check out the goodreads group to learn more.

 

May 30th: Fandoms You Are No Longer In
–Everyone has those fandoms they used to be super invested in, and now are no longer a part of.

 

I’m going to have to cheat a little with this topic, because I’m kind of a lifer when it comes to fandoms. I’m not saying there aren’t things that have fandoms that I’ve lost interest in, but I never considered myself a real part of those fandoms. This is also the one topic I haven’t been able to come up with all/mostly books for, because, like I said, I’m a lifer.

So, in no particular order, these are the fandoms I used to obsessively keep up with, read fanfic and theories about, etc., but now, not so much.


Supernatural– I was there pretty much from the beginning (I think I came in around S1E3), and I was devoted for years. *deep breath* I was even there for the Mishapocalypse… I still love Supernatural (even though I’m a season or 3 behind), but I’m just not as invested in it as I once was.

Gilmore Girls– It almost hurts me to say this, but I’m just not as infatuated with this show as I was back in the day. I still love Lorelei, but I’ve kind of started to almost dislike Rory.

Degrassi– Ok, so mostly from The Next Generation back in the early to mid 2000s, but I also watched reruns of the original series. I loved the show, I would totally watch the episodes from that time period again, but I’m not going to seek them out very seriously.

Anne Rice– *sigh* I’m not going to go into why I’m not in the fandom anymore, but I’ll just say it has a bit to do with fanfic and a lot to do with me and my tastes changing as I grew up. I still love the Interview movie, though. (I’ve read books of hers outside the Vampire Chronicles, so that’s why I just used her instead of one series.)

X-Men– I didn’t really get into comics until a few years ago, as an adult, but I did have some X-Men comics way back in the day. When the first movie came out, I was soooo excited. Then the second movie came out, and I was soooo excited. Around the third, I started to lose interest. But then came X-Men Origins: Wolverine and the damn near unrecognizable Wade Wilson/Deadpool and the honeymoon was over. I still like X-Men, even that movie, but I juts don’t get too excited anymore, except about Deadpool.

35 thoughts on “T5W: Fandoms I’ve Drifted From

  1. I’m with you on Supernatural! I watched the first 5 seasons just lost interest. I feel like it’s gone on for too long. I do have to say with the X-Men movies that the newer ones are awesome: The Wolverine, First Class and Days of Future Past if you haven’t seen them πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am with you regarding GG. I loved it but now I dislike Rory. I hated how Christopher was always dragged in to add drama to Loreley’s love life, that’s why I started to dislike him. Actually, since I saw A Year In The Life, I am an avid Emily fan.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t even remember what happened in what season anymore. It all just blurs together. I do think I agree with you, though. Seems like I remember not liking it as much starting with season 6. (I’m still wondering what happened to Adam, but I’m a couple seasons behind so maybe I’ve forgotten/missed it.)

      Like

  3. Bebe says:

    Degrassi: The Next Generation used to be one of my favorite shows. I loved the first seasons of them until the classic cast started disappearing. Every time I think of/see Drake I automatically think of him as Jimmy!

    Brianna at Listful Booking

    Liked by 1 person

    • Totally agree about the first three seasons. I still love Lorelei, mostly, but she still annoys me sometimes. I always liked Christopher, though, and wished he’d had a bigger part in the show instead of just being the absent father.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve reached the point where I don’t even mind waiting for it to come to Netflix anymore (I don’t have cable), and there are usually two seasons up before I get around to watching it because I just don’t care much anymore.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Funny how the same way deadpool turned you off then later turned you on…he he but hey! The same happened to me! It’s very understandable!
    I am very much in love with GG still but just like you I guess I remember loving them both equally but I rewatched it last year in preparation of the Netflix reboot and the truth is that I looove Lorelei but I simply hate Rory! She infuriates me! At the beginning she was innocent and I liked her yes, but she grows up twisted and just…. Nope.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lia says:

    Same on Supernatural! I loved it so much but the last seasons are just not that good? I get annoyed by everything, and the storyline is just not interesting anymore. I miss the good old days.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Nel says:

        I was a Gilmore Girls fans years ago when it aired on TV and then I binged it on Netflix cause I realized I’d never finished it and for lack of anything else to watch but yeah Rory got super annoying with her wishy-washiness

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

