Must Read Mondays: June 12th

must-read-mondays

Must Read Monday is a weekly thing I do here to recommend books I’ve read and enjoyed. I might sometimes throw in something I gave 3 stars to, but for the most part they’re books I gave a 4-5 star rating to. That doesn’t mean they’re necessarily amazing literature, but it does mean I liked them enough to recommend them to other people.

 

The Zombie Survival Guide by Max Brooks

 

6966270

cover; links to goodreads

 

When I read it: May 2011

Genres: It has them, but I’m not sure what they are :/ Let’s go with: humor, horror

Recommended for: Anyone who likes zombies, or anyone who wants to prep for any potential apocalyptic event.

 

 

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble

 


What it’s about:

From the author of the #1 New York Times bestseller, World War ZThe Zombie Survival Guide is your key to survival against the hordes of undead who may be stalking you right now. Fully illustrated and exhaustively comprehensive, this book covers everything you need to know, including how to understand zombie physiology and behavior, the most effective defense tactics and weaponry, ways to outfit your home for a long siege, and how to survive and adapt in any territory or terrain.

Top 10 Lessons for Surviving a Zombie Attack

1. Organize before they rise!
2. They feel no fear, why should you?
3. Use your head: cut off theirs.
4. Blades don’t need reloading.
5. Ideal protection = tight clothes, short hair.
6. Get up the staircase, then destroy it.
7. Get out of the car, get onto the bike.
8. Keep moving, keep low, keep quiet, keep alert!
9. No place is safe, only safer.
10. The zombie may be gone, but the threat lives on.

Don’t be carefree and foolish with your most precious asset—life. This book is your key to survival against the hordes of undead who may be stalking you right now without your even knowing it. The Zombie Survival Guide offers complete protection through trusted, proven tips for safeguarding yourself and your loved ones against the living dead. It is a book that can save your life.


 

Alright, in the interest of full disclosure, I have to tell you that I don’t remember this very clearly. It’s been over 6 years since I read it, so the details are pretty fuzzy now, but I do remember reading it very quickly and loving it. I actually gave this 5/5 stars back then. This might not be for everyone, but if you like zombies, fiction that’s written like non-fiction, or books about preppers, you might like this.

 


Have you read it? What did you think?

4 thoughts on “Must Read Mondays: June 12th

    • I can’t remember how much the zombies are actually featured in this particular book, but I’m pretty sure it’s not a constant thing. But I kind of get the zombie fear, I think. My best friend is super freaked out by them, too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

