T5W: Favorite Side Character Ships!

top-5-wednesday

T5W is a weekly meme created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey, now hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. You can check out the goodreads group to learn more.

 

June 14th: Side Ships
— Tell us your favorite relationships that don’t involve the protagonist!

 

**Warning: Some strong language ahead in this post, if anyone’s bothered by that.**

Honestly, I’m not much of a shipper, and when I do ship, it’s usually a canon ship for main characters. (Also, I’m kind of cheating with one, and seriously cheating with another of these, but the serious cheat is the ship I’ll go down with, damn it!)

But, these are a few I came up with, in no particular order…

(All the covers link to the goodreads page for the book)

256683Magnus Bane & Alec Lightwood (from The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare)

These two, ugh. They were why I mostly finished the series (I couldn’t actually make it through City of Holy Fuck This is Long Heavenly Fire, and I literally just skimmed it to get the basics because I was so done with that series), and I love them. They are my precious book children and I want them to be happy.

 

3Dean Thomas & Seamus Finnigan (from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling)

Ok, this is one of the only non-canon ships I’ve ever had, but I’m still including it because a) I actually ship it, b) it’s a side-characters-ship, and c) it’s such a popular ship it might as well be canon. Like, Devon Murray even tweeted about how Dean & Seamus could get married in Ireland a couple of years ago when gay marriage was legalized.

 

8490112Zuzana Nováková & Mikolas Vavra (from the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series by Laini Taylor)

I haven’t read this in years, but I remember liking these two and wishing we’d seen more of them. (Also, I’ve only read the first two books, and I barely remember anything from the first book now :/ )

 

 

41865Jasper Hale & Alice Cullen (from The Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer)

I can not believe I have a ship from those god awful books, considering how much I hated them, but the thing is, all the side characters were so much more interesting than Boring Bella and Exasperating Edward. (I’m sorry, Twilight fans, but the books were not for me, and while I hated the books, I don’t have any bad feelings about the people who did enjoy them.)

 

And now, my big cheat for this week…

 

22055262Holland Vosjik & HAPPINESS, DAMN IT (from the Shades of Magic series by V.E. Schwab)

Do I need to say more about this one?

 

 


What are some of your favorite side ships?

 

12 thoughts on “T5W: Favorite Side Character Ships!

    • Ha, thank you! I’m glad someone agrees with me about Holland 😛 In the books, I also kind of liked Isabelle and Simon, but I haven’t seen the show so I have no clue what anyone’s like on it. But Magnus/Alec were my absolute faves in the TMI books.

      Liked by 1 person

        • I don’t think they were a huuuge part of the books, but there were some very amusing bits with them, especially later in the series, now that I think about it. If you read the series, I hope you like it more than I did 🙂 (I thought the first three were ok, but the last three I really struggled with.)

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

