T5W: Unlikable Protagonists

top-5-wednesday

T5W is a weekly meme created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey, now hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. You can check out the goodreads group to learn more.

 

June 21st: Favorite “Unlikeable” Protagonists
— People always tear down “unlikeable” protagonists. But tell us the ones you pulled for!

 

Ugh, this topic has been torturing me all month, and I finally decided to just go with a couple of TV characters to get to 5, because I couldn’t remember 5 from books :/

As usual, these aren’t in any order, but I did like some more than others.


24612118

 

Mathilde from Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff– I hated her a little, but overall I actually liked her. She’s a kind of terrible person, but I respected her commitment to the things she set her mind to do.

 

9741769

Lestat my precious night child from The Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rice– He is a huge ass, he’s narcissistic, cruel, sadistic, and just all around terrible and I love him for all of it. He’s the reason I fell in love with vampires ❤

 

908983

Macbeth from the eponymous Shakespeare play– Full disclosure: I’m actually only just now reading this for the first time :O I think I like him? Probably?

 

 

 

giphy5Emma Swan from Once Upon a Time– Oh my gods, she was so freaking annoying the first season. Actually, no, she still annoys me (I’ve only seen what’s on Netflix), but I keep rooting for her. I mean, I’m a bigger fan of almost everyone else in the show, but I kept hoping she would get her shit together and eventually be happy and stuff.

 

giphy6
Meredith Grey from Grey’s Anatomy– Ok, Mere is probably one of the most unlikable protagonists I’ve ever encountered in TV that I’ve liked. (Or at least I’m assuming she’s unlikable because I rarely encounter someone who actually likes her.) I don’t always love her, but I’ve related a little too much to her at times to not want to see things work out for her.

 


Who are some of your favorite unlikable protagonists?

 

About battybibliophile

If you’ve somehow found your way to this blog, hello! I created this blog for (mostly) book related posts. I’m not entirely certain about the potential content that will find its way here, but I have some ideas. I will probably use this space for reviewing books, posting short thoughts on what I’m reading (or planning to read), quotes, rants, etc.
This entry was posted in book tags/memes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to T5W: Unlikable Protagonists

  1. I agree with Meredith! I used to love her a lot but now she annoys me more often than not! I still like her but maybe not as much as I used to 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Emma didn’t really start annoying me until after season 5 of Once Upon a Time. I feel like her acting got really rusty when the sixth season started…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love Meredith Grey 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nel says:

    Noooo not Meredith!! Okay, I hated her in the beginning but now I love her character. She cares so much about those around her even though she’s terrible at showing it. Currently, I can’t stand Clarke on the 100. She’s supposed to be the leader but she’s so obnoxious and stupid and whiny most of the time. I wish she would be killed of the show but alas….

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think I always liked her haha. But even in season 1, I knew a lot of people hated her. I haven’t seen the 100 and I’m kind of scared to because I’ve heard so many mixed feelings about it :/

      Liked by 1 person

      • Nel says:

        I like it. It starts off lame and cheesy like most CW shows do but it gets good. Season 4 just hit Netflix and I binged it in two days it was sooooo good! But I really am not a fan of Clarke anymore. You should give it a shot on day! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Irena S. says:

    Lestat is on my list, too! 😂 I just love him!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

