T5W: Books Without Romance

top-5-wednesday

T5W is a weekly meme created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey, now hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. You can check out the goodreads group to learn more.

 

July 5th: Books Without Romance
— A few (very, very few) people complained about the “shipping” topics lately, so I thought it would be good to talk about books that don’t have a romantic subplot! This is a really hard one, so if you can’t find any, you can talk about some where the romance is super super minor. Like barely mentioned… at all…

 

I thought this topic was going to be really difficult, but after I started thinking about it, my problem was narrowing it down to only five books that I couldn’t remember having romance.

Here we go, in no particular order, as usual…


 

22055262

cover; links to goodreads

 

 

 

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab– One of my all-time favorite books that I try to make everyone I know read ❤

 

 

 

 

 

255262961

cover; links to goodreads

 

Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire– Ok, so there might have been some flirting or something in this novella, but no actual romance-romance

.

 

 

 

 

386162

cover; links to goodreads

 

 

 

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams– Another all-time favorite that I try to force on everyone (and probably feature way too often). I think there was some romance(ish?) later in the series, but it was so minor I’m not even sure it was there

 

.

 

 

 

21469108

cover; links to goodreads

 

The Ghosts of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick– This book of 4 kinda connected stories didn’t–if I remember correctly–have any romance, but it’s possible I’ve forgotten. If I did forget it, it’s because the romance was super minor.

 

 

 

 

 

 

16299

cover; links to goodreads

 

 

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie– I don’t remember romance in this, but it’s been several years since I read it. All I do remember clearly is the ending and how this book made me think, “Hmm, maybe I could like mysteries…” and now I actively seek them out somewhat regularly.

 

 

 

 


What are some of your favorite books with no romance?

 

19 thoughts on “T5W: Books Without Romance

  1. It’s reall hard to find YA books without romance.
    A lot of the discworld books are without romance. And those that do have romance in them are still so unobtrusive (and in the early books, the romance plots weren’t actually that good). I’d especially point out the witches (Witches abroad), the Tiffany Aching books, Small Gods … ok, nearly all of them *lol*
    I am about to start Every heart. First 5 pages sounded great.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It really is so hard to find them without a lot of digging! I don’t hate romance in books, but I don’t want to read about it constantly, you know? Shameful confession time: I still haven’t read any of Terry Pratchett’s books :/ I tried reading The Color of Magic but wasn’t getting into it, so husband bought me Equal Rites and I’m really looking forward to it. I’m glad to hear there’s not much romance in the Discworld books, though, so thank you! Good luck with Every Heart! I hope you enjoy it 🙂

      Like

  2. Great list! I had Every Heart A Doorway and two of Schwab’s other books This Savage Song and Vicious on my list too! I also have The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and The Ghosts of Heaven on my TBR as well so I’m happy to hear you enjoyed them and that they’re also pretty romance free! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve only read a few of her books, so maybe there’s romance in some, but I doubt it’s ever very prominent if there is 🙂 Also, I love that while there *is* a recommended reading order, you can pretty much read any of them in any order. I think… Good luck and I hope you enjoy them if you read some!

      Like

  3. Nel says:

    Written in Red by Anne Bishop. I thought it was going to have romance but it didn’t. I’m on the 5th book in the series and still nothing which is surprising. Seanan McGuire is an author I keep thinking about trying but haven’t yet. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

