First Lines Fridays: July 7th

first-lines-fridays

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?

The Rules:

  • Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page
  • Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first

Finally… reveal the book!

 


As she woke up in the pod, she remembered three things. First, she was traveling through open space. Second, she was about to start a new job, one she could not screw up. Third, she had bribed a government official into giving her a new identity file. 


 

 

Interested? Keep reading to find out which book this is from.

 

down-arrow

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

27213244What it’s about:

Somewhere within our crowded sky, a crew of wormhole builders hops from planet to planet, on their way to the job of a lifetime. To the galaxy at large, humanity is a minor species, and one patched-up construction vessel is a mere speck on the starchart. This is an everyday sort of ship, just trying to get from here to there.

But all voyages leave their mark, and even the most ordinary of people have stories worth telling. A young Martian woman, hoping the vastness of space will put some distance between herself and the life she‘s left behind. An alien pilot, navigating life without her own kind. A pacifist captain, awaiting the return of a loved one at war.

Set against a backdrop of curious cultures and distant worlds, this episodic tale weaves together the adventures of nine eclectic characters, each on a journey of their own.

(The cover links to goodreads)

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository


I can’t remember when or how this landed on my TBR, but I know it’s been on there a while. I finally got a copy recently and I’m really looking forward to getting into it (if this weird book mood ever ends that’s keeping me from sci-fi and fantasy, ugh) because I’ve heard great things about it all over the place. Plus, I’m loving those first lines! Even if this hadn’t been on my radar, if I’d picked it up randomly and read that, I would probably have been hooked.


Have you read it? If you did, what did you think of it?

 

About battybibliophile

If you’ve somehow found your way to this blog, hello! I created this blog for (mostly) book related posts. I’m not entirely certain about the potential content that will find its way here, but I have some ideas. I will probably use this space for reviewing books, posting short thoughts on what I’m reading (or planning to read), quotes, rants, etc.
This entry was posted in book tags/memes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to First Lines Fridays: July 7th

  1. I really want to read this book as well! I have heard many amazing things about it and people whose opinions I trust have loved it. 😀 I just haven’t been in the mood to read science fiction lately and I hope that changes soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. hadeer says:

    That is a killer opening line! I’ve heard great things about this book; I’m super excited to check it out now!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

