T5W: Favorite Children’s Books

top-5-wednesday

T5W is a weekly meme created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey, now hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. You can check out the goodreads group to learn more.

July 12th: Children’s Books
–This can include Middle Grade (but try to recommend more than just Harry Potter and Percy Jackson!) Feel free to talk about your childhood faves or more recent reads.

This one was way harder than I expected because there were/are so many children’s and middle grade books I’ve loved. 


15944406

cover; links to goodreads


Doll Bones
by Holly Black– I read this somewhat recently, and I think I would have liked it a lot when I was about 7. I still liked it as an adult, but I think I would have enjoyed it more at a much younger age, but at either point I would have been disappointed that it wasn’t really a horror story like I’d been led to believe. It was still a good story, though, and one of the better children’s books I’ve read as an adult.

 

 

 

6319 6327 109137 109059 109089
Roald Dahl’s children’s books– Ok, I couldn’t decide on a favorite. The Witches and Matilda are probably my top 2, but I love them both equally, but for different reasons, and I love several of his other books, so I’m just using him instead of a specific book for this one. (All the covers link to goodreads.)

 

24185

cover; links to goodreads

 

Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White– This is the first book-book I can remember reading on my own. And it’s also the first book I had to argue with people about, because no one around me believed a 4 year old could have read and comprehended this book 🙄 Basically, this was the book that made me realize how important books were going to be to me, and it’s still an all-time favorite of mine.

 

 

471189

cover; links to goodreads

 

Lily’s Crossing by Patricia Reilly Giff– I had to put this on the list even though I haven’t seen or read a copy of this in almost 20 years. Why? Because I must have read this book over a dozen times in 4th grade. I don’t even know why I loved it so much back then, but it meant so much to me I’m still thinking about it all these years later, and I’m probably going to buy a copy for my kid soon.

 

 

I’m cheating and calling a tie between these last two! I’m sorry, but I can’t choose between these two great loves of my early childhood.

 

584460

cover; links to goodreads

 

Scary Stories Treasury by Alvin Schwartz– Back in my day these were three individual books that I obsessively checked out probably 30 times in the three years I was at the elementary school that had them. Now, I own this bind up and I still re-read it a lot, and even share some of the mildest with my kid who kind of likes horror, but not as much as I did/do.

 

 

 

125553

cover; links to goodreads

 

Goosebumps by R.L. Stine–lived for these books before Harry Potter, and I had a decent collection. Everyone in my family knew how much I loved them and even bought me some of the VHS tapes, which I also obsessively watched when I couldn’t sneak a real horror movie into my VCR. (There are like 5 million of these, so I just grabbed one cover.)

 

 

 


Did any of your favorites make my list? Tell me about some of your favorite children’s and/or middle grade books!

About battybibliophile

If you’ve somehow found your way to this blog, hello! I created this blog for (mostly) book related posts. I’m not entirely certain about the potential content that will find its way here, but I have some ideas. I will probably use this space for reviewing books, posting short thoughts on what I’m reading (or planning to read), quotes, rants, etc.
This entry was posted in book tags/memes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to T5W: Favorite Children’s Books

  1. OMG I remember Scary Stories…that’s why I don’t read Horror now!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

