(Ridiculously Late) June Wrap Up + Book Haul

Well, at least I did this before the month was officially half over? :/ Onward!

So June wasn’t really a great reading month for me, but that’s ok because I made up for it by buying a ton of new books…That makes sense, right? Terrifying TBR + slow reading month = buy more books! (I might have failed a math class once…)

Anyway, in June, I managed to finally get through some things I’m ashamed for having not read yet, found a new couple of favorites, and crossed an item or two off my PopSugar 2017 Reading Challenge, and completed my goal for #RockMyTBR. So, all things considered, it wasn’t a bad month. Plus, shiny new books!


I read:

306884351

cover; links to goodreads

 

 

Exit West by Mohsin Hamid (reviewed here) and I gave it 3.75/5 stars (rounded up to 4/5 stars).

 

 

 

 

255262961

cover; links to goodreads

 

 

Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire (reviewed here) and I gave it 5/5 stars.

 

 

 

 

29079839

cover; links to goodreads

24322196

cover; links to goodreads 

The Haunted and The Hunted by Cassie Alexander (reviewed together here), and I gave The Haunted a tentative 2.75 stars (rounded up to 3/5) and The Hunted 2.5/5 stars (rounded down to 2/5)

 

 

 

 

27207519

cover; links to goodreads

 

La Douleur Exquise by J.R. Rogue which I gave 4/5 stars, and I highly recommend Rogue’s work in general!

 

 

 

 

30333938

cover; links to goodreads

 

 

Slammed by Colleen Hoover which I gave 2/5 stars. I wanted to like it, but it really wasn’t my thing at all, so sorry to any fans out there :/

 

 

 

 

908983

cover; links to goodreads

 

Macbeth by William Shakespeare which I gave 5/5 stars (but maybe 4.5/5? I’m not sure yet), and this is one I was ashamed that I hadn’t read yet. I love Shakespeare and I feel like this should have been required high school reading.

 

 

 

And, finally, I read

132391

cover; links to goodreads

 

The Little Mermaid by Hans Christian Andersen for the first time. I think. I gave it 2/5 stars. I had a bunch of classic fairy tales when I was a kid, but I don’t remember if I had this one or not. If I did read it then, it didn’t leave an impression, and I’m still just not a fan. I think I’m more of a Grimm’s fan.

 

 


Book Haul!

june haul 02

From top to bottom: Equal Rites by Terry Pratchett; Hans Christian Andersen Tales (Word Cloud Classics edition because I love those and have a few others); The Girl in the Castle by Santa Montefiore; It’s All Fun and Games by Dave Barrett; Everything Must Go (ARC) by Jenny Fran Davis; Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour; Burial Rites by Hannah Kent; Blue Horses by Mary Oliver; Irish Folk and Fairy Tales by W.B. Yeats; Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel; The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell; If We Were Villains by M.L. Rio; The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon; The Complete Poetry of Maya Angelou

Husband picked out Equal Rites, mostly for me, because I didn’t get along well with The Color of Magic and, for a change, he wants to get me into a series. So, I read a page or so of Equal Rites, declared it to be more to my tastes, and here we are. He also found the W.B. Yeats book and thought I’d be interested (he knows me so well ❤ ).

I’m long overdue having some Andersen fairy tales, so I jumped at the chance to get this edition when I found it.

The Girl in the CastleIt’s All Fun and Games, and Everything Must Go were goodreads giveaway wins that arrived last month.

Everything Leads to YouBurial RitesBlue Horses, Station Eleven, The Bone Clocks, The Bone Season, and anything/everything Maya Angelou have all been on my wishlist and TBR for ages.

If We Were Villainshad to get because I won the audiobook a couple of months ago (review here) and became absolutely obsessed with it. I’ve been scouring B&N since then, but the closest to me doesn’t stock it. I actually–amazingly–found it at BAM, which blew my mind. Husband made me buy it because I’d finally found it (and had been talking non-stop about it for weeks by then). It’s definitely a contender for my favorite book read in 2017 and I highly recommend it!

Also, I think I should mention that while this looks like I spent an obscene amount of money, almost all of these (that I bought) were on sale. Like, under $5 kind of on sale. I felt like I’d died and gone to bibliophile heaven because I hadn’t even planned on going to the bookstore, but we did, and it was amazing. I really don’t usually buy as many books as I have this year, I’ve just come across great deals at opportune times. The only thing that bugs me a little is that a lot were on shelves outside, so they have a bit of dirt and slightly more wear than most of the inside books. But for the prices, I’m fine with that.


What was your June reading month like? See any books you loved (or hated!) on my lists?

 

3 thoughts on “(Ridiculously Late) June Wrap Up + Book Haul

Leave a Reply

