Top 5 Wednesday: 2nd Book Was the Best

top-5-wednesday

T5W is a weekly meme created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey, now hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. You can check out the goodreads group to learn more.

 

August 9th: Second Book is Best
–We’ve talked about series that went downhill, and series that are worth it, but which series were best in the middle?

 

Ugh, I almost didn’t even do this topic because I couldn’t think of any books. I’m not 100% sure I’m happy with my choices, but oh well. In no particular order…


22299763

 

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo– Ok, I gave both books in this duology 5/5 stars, but I think I enjoyed Crooked Kingdom just a tiny bit more. (My review of both books here)

 

6148028

 

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins– I read this trilogy ages ago, so I actually don’t remember too much about each book, but I do remember not totally loving Mockingjay, and on goodreads I said I liked this better than The Hunger Games, so…

 

 

49041

 

 

New Moon by Stephenie Meyers– A friend convinced me to read the Twilight Saga and I never understood the appeal. I pretty much hated everything about the whole series (sorry, fans!), but I gave this one 2/5 stars instead of 1/5 stars like the rest. (Actually, I think The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner was the best book related to this series.)

17347389

 

Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater– I think I gave this entire series 5/5 stars, but this one was my actual favorite. I loved it, and if I could only re-read one book in the series, I’d pick this one.

 

 

18916006
Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Season 8 (vol. 2): No Future for You
by Brian K. Vaughan & Joss Whedon (illustrated by Georges Jeanty & Cliff Richards)– Ok, this one might be cheating because I stopped reading this series after volume 2. I just wasn’t loving it, and I heard really bad things about later volumes. But, I liked this one more than volume 1, so here we are.

 


Are there any middle books you liked best?

About battybibliophile

If you’ve somehow found your way to this blog, hello! I created this blog for (mostly) book related posts. I’m not entirely certain about the potential content that will find its way here, but I have some ideas. I will probably use this space for reviewing books, posting short thoughts on what I’m reading (or planning to read), quotes, rants, etc.
This entry was posted in book tags/memes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

