Book Review: Escapism: Words + Photos by Candice Lee

32280505

cover; links to goodreads

Genres: poetry; photography

Why I read it: I won a copy in a goodreads giveaway. Also, poetry.

Who I’d recommend it to: This one is tough, but I would probably recommend it to someone going through a breakup.

 

My rating: ★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆

 

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

 

 


What it’s about:

This is a story about love and loss. This full-color book is a collection of poems and landscape photographs–all written, shot, and arranged by the author. 
Composed in the style of a memoir, she shares her experiences through words and photos. This window into her emotions reveals the dark side of love as it narrates the journey through relationships, friendships, it’s-complicated-ships, and self-identity. But really, it’s a story about finding beauty in pain through growth.

Note from the author:
“Everybody hurts. But not everyone is willing to share their pain from weak moments. It’s difficult to put it all out there. I believe, these are the moments that mark beginnings of transformation. I hope this book helps people feel a little less lonely and a little more inspired. We all feel it.”


Review:

I love the photography in this book! The cover caught my eye first because it’s basically a minimalist cover, but it’s a photograph, and I think it’s perfect for this collection of poetry. It set the tone and fit nicely. Most of the photographs are in full color, which was a nice surprise. Photography–especially nature photography, which is what’s in this book–is kind of a passion of mine.

The poetry itself didn’t blow me away or really make me feel like I’d hoped it would. I liked a good chunk of it, and even loved a couple of poems, but I think I would have gotten more out of this if I’d had it after a breakup.

I hate reviewing poetry like this because you can tell it’s so personal to the poet, but, because it’s so personal, not all if it will work for everyone else. I know from my own piles of old notebooks full of poetry that post-breakup poetry can get repetitive (trying to get your feelings out and heal can take a while, and a lot of revisiting certain topics/themes/ideas), and this collection had some repetition that eventually caused my interest to wane a little.

Reading this felt like reading things the poet had written to the people who caused the heartache, which, in a way, I think it was. But it felt so intimate, almost like I was peeking into a diary. The poetry wasn’t general, exploring heartbreak broadly, but quite specific. I think that’s why I had such a difficult time relating to it.

So, I did like this poetry book, but I was definitely not the target audience. Still, I did highlight a few parts that spoke to me. The photographs were beautiful, and I loved them. I can see myself recommending this collection to someone still dealing with a broken heart, or trying to move on from a relationship.

About battybibliophile

If you’ve somehow found your way to this blog, hello! I created this blog for (mostly) book related posts. I’m not entirely certain about the potential content that will find its way here, but I have some ideas. I will probably use this space for reviewing books, posting short thoughts on what I’m reading (or planning to read), quotes, rants, etc.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

