Weekly Wrap Up: October 1st-7th

It’s still R.I.P. season, and it’s Blogtober, and I’m still trying to make these weekly wrap ups happen even though I know I’m not going to be consistent :/ (Also, this post was supposed to go up yesterday for Blogtober, but I ended up being really ill, so I finished it today.)

I haven’t read anything for R.I.P. XIV or Something Wicked Fall so far, because the book I started at the end of September (The Supernatural Enhancements) is not working for me. Neither is The Girl With All the Gifts, but I think I’m just not in the right mood for either of them, so I’m going to backburner them and pick them back up some other time, and move on to something I am excited to read right now.

What I did read was The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid, but I can’t give you my thoughts on it yet because I’m still processing it. I do think I really liked it, but I’m not sure of my rating and all that just yet.


It’s October, which means it’s Halloween Month, which means it’s time for my annual 31 Days of Horror movie marathon 💀🔪🎃

I’m a huge horror movie lover, and I take my marathon slightly seriously. What I mean by that is that sometimes, I don’t actually manage to start a movie before midnight, but as long as I come out of the month having watched at least 31 movies that are Halloween Month appropriate, I consider it a success.

(I’m using the 🎃 emoji to rate stuff, like stars. No 🎃 means I didn’t think it was good enough to earn any jack-o-lantern emojis 😛 )

I watched:

American Horror Story: Apocalypse– I’m not linking a trailer for this one, partially because it has crossover with three other seasons, but also because I feel like AHS isn’t something you watch a trailer for :/ Is that just me? Yes? Ok, I’m fine being the weird one. Anyway… I’m pleased to report that Cult didn’t ruin AHS for me, and I actually ended up really liking Apocalypse. It’s not going to be my favorite, but it’s kind of in the middle with the ones I really liked, but didn’t love or hate. 🎃 🎃 🎃 🎃 /5

Darkness Rising– This one is on Netflix, and I highly suggest skipping it, oh my gods. The acting was terrible (or maybe that was the script, idk), the plot was a mess, and it was honestly just pretty damn stupid. It had some great gory bits, though, if that’s your jam with horror.

Clinical– Also on Netflix, this psychological thriller impressed me more than I thought it would. I did figure it all out pretty early, but I was never absolutely certain. This one is definitely worth a watch if you like thrillers. 🎃 🎃 🎃 🎃 /5

The Monster– Ugh. I don’t know what to say about this one. It’s on Netlix, and it’s basically a slow moving drama about a terrible mother/daughter relationship, and there happens to have a monster eventually. It wasn’t the worst movie I’ve ever seen, but I kept waiting for something to happen, and not much did until near the end. I feel like it was trying to be profound or something, and just failed. 🎃 🎃 .5 /5

Mercy Black– Is one I’ve been wanting to watch for a while, and I was slightly disappointed, but I enjoyed it overall. I’m not going to try to categorize it, because that might be spoiler-y (maybe), but it wasn’t horrible. 🎃 🎃 🎃 /5

The Witch Files– I actually ended up really liking this one. If you like The Blair Witch Project, The Craft, and Mean Girls, or Gossip Girl, maybe check this out. I kinda saw the big reveal coming from really early on, but it was still entertaining. 🎃 🎃 🎃 .5?…maybe 4/5

Gerald’s Game– Ugh. Ugh, ugh, ugh. I need to just stop with anything that came from Stephen King. I know, I know, as a horror lover, I should be worshiping at the King altar. But I just don’t love his stuff, ya’ll :/ I hate that, but it’s true. In all fairness, I haven’t read the book, but I haven’t read the book because so far I haven’t liked any of King’s fiction, so I’m not excited about reading it. All that said, this wasn’t…terrible. I seem to have a love/hate relationship with Mike Flanagan’s work, so maybe it’s that, idk. I just did not really enjoy this one, and I barely managed to pay attention through the whole thing. I did really like the ending, though, which saved it from a single jack-o-lantern rating. 🎃 🎃 /5

Lights Out– Oh man, I saved the best for last, it would seem. I’m actually trying to write a real review for this one, because it might be one of my new favorites. Kid and I watched this one yesterday, and I really loved a lot about it, but I have conflicting thoughts about some other parts. If you saw the short film that kinda went viral back in 2013, and you thought it was creepy and good, check out the feature film because it’s not disappointing, imo. 🎃 🎃 🎃 🎃 (.5?)/5


All in all, not a terrible first week. I wish I’d read more, but it’s fine. Hopefully this second week will be better for reading, and horror movies.

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑